Haiku (poetry)

Assignment: 

  • Write five haiku
    • One haiku must deal with nature to play with the classic theme since the original form used nature as its subject.
    • The other four can your choice. You can choose to connect them or make them independent.

Resources:

It is more than likely you already know what a haiku is–purely based on Internet memes regarding refrigerators…

Though these are cute at first sight–I want you to go past cliche and aim for depth. I’m not against humor, but I’ve had tons of haiku poems about the process of writing haiku. If you do this, I will have you go back and write another.

My face when I get poems like this…

Now I’m going to contradict myself a bit. Hear me out. Once you learn the rules, you can learn how to break them creatively. Here is an example from Rick Riordan’s Titan’s Curse where a character displays his cheeky charm by reciting sarcastic haiku:

“He cleared his throat and held up one hand dramatically.
“Green grass breaks through snow.
Artemis pleads for my help.
I am so cool.”

He grinned at us, waiting for applause.
“That last line was four syllables.” Artemis said.
Apollo frowned. “Was it?”
“Yes. What about I am so big headed?”
“No, no, that’s six syllable, hhhm.” He started muttering to himself.
Zoe Nightshade turned to us. “Lord Apollo has been going through this haiku phase ever since he visited Japan. Tis not as bad as the time he visited Limerick. If I’d had to hear one more poem that started with, There once was a goddess from Sparta-“
“I’ve got it!” Apollo announced. “I am so awesome. That’s five syllables!” He bowed, looking very pleased with himself.”
Rick Riordan, The Titan’s Curse

Book excerpt taken from Goodreads.com.

I like how Riordan uses shallow haiku to reinforce Apollo’s happy-go-lucky personality and to add to the character’s banter. You can choose to incorporate this tone of haiku in a small, writing piece if you are able to showcase characterization.

Here is an example from a ‘Riot writer which gives excellent depth, and I love how her haiku act together to relate a story.

Read Haley Petersen’s set of haikus: “Now You Can’t Sleep Without Her” on page 61 of Perception.

Leave a Reply

